Folbot

Restoring an old boat

Discusion related to all older Folbot models Pre Hugo! (1990)

Restoring an old boat

Postby sgb » Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:46 pm

Hello,

I Just was given my grandfathers old folbot. I think it is a super from sometime in the 60's, but i am still trying to get my parents to confirm that. i remember it being a great boat when i was a kid, but it has spent the last 10 years under my parents deck, where the skin has shrunk and some of the ribs and the stem from the stern have been destroyed by mold, rot and warping.

i would like to restore the boat. i have some experience building Greenland skin on frame kayaks and would like to sew a new skin together.

does anyone have information on where i could get the dimensions of the ribs and stem so that i can make new ones? maybe someone with an existing boat would be willing to send me tracings?

also what kind of material would be best for making a new skin out of, and how does one go about doing that?

any and all advice would be very helpful,

thanks

saul
sgb

Re: Restoring an old boat

Postby oldkayaker » Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:51 am

Saul,
Welcome to the forum. You really should say where you are located. Never know what your neighbors might have stashed away some where. Scroll down the page to the Maintenance/Repairs/Upgrades forum and you will find answers to most of your questions. Earl
oldkayaker

Postby sgb » Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:01 am

I'm in vermont, so if there is anyone around who has spare parts for a super, that they are interested in selling, that would be great.

i am also looking for a sailing rig, or instructions on building one.

thanks

-saul
sgb

Postby MrPorcine » Wed Jun 16, 2010 3:26 pm