Folbot

Need information on old hull repair

Discusion related to all older Folbot models Pre Hugo! (1990)

Need information on old hull repair

Postby C_Swenson » Mon May 23, 2005 10:24 pm

I am new to folding kayaks. I have been saving up for a Greenland II double kayak to migrate out of my canoe. This last Saturday morning, totally out of the blue, I picked up a older Folbot single at a garage sale for a whopping $10.00. This might be an acceptable starter boat to get me on the water and add another boat for the family. The frame seems to be serviceable with one or two minor repairs at the stern, but I fear that the lower hull has aged a bit too much.

The outer layer on the hull, vinyl I think, has a brown discoloration and is separatingin flakes from the under layer of tough fabric. Needless to say I have a few questions.

1) Can you help me identify the model and date of manufacturer by looking at the frame and hull pictures? The only alphanumeric coding I have seen thus far is a M2 stamped on the insides of the carrying bags?

2)Can I peal back all the damaged cracking material from the lower hull and attach a new surface of EDPM as described in Ralph Dias's book?

3) If the EDPM will not work; is there another surface treatment out there that can add some life to the hull?

4) Am I better off selling the frame & components and putting the money toward
a newer kayak?

I am attaching some pictures that may help you identify the kayak. Many thanks for your help and support.

Best,
Chuck
C_Swenson

Postby bagboater » Mon May 23, 2005 11:33 pm

How long is it? Might be a Super Single. Doesn't look like a Sporty.

At that price it would be worth trying to fix. If you can't find a way to re-coat the hull you could seperate the hull and deck at the seams and use it for a pattern to cut a new hull. Sewing it back together is the hard part. A tent and awning shop could sew it for you and may be able to come up with a near match for the fabric. Good luck.